Back from Travels in Asia

I’m finally back from three weeks in Asia: Hong Kong, Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka, Bangkok, Angkor Wat, and the Maldives. The trip was amazing, and I took over 1,000 photos to record my journey. My Canon XSi performed well, and I was very pleased with most of the photos.

Unfortunately, carrying around my photography gear (i.e. camera body, two lenses, a battery grip, extra batteries, charger, extra memory, etc.) all the time became a major pain. It’s not just camera gear that you’re carrying around; often, you might also have water, snacks, guide books, phone, net-book, souvenirs, etc. in your bag. When you’re trekking through the jungles and climbing the temples of Angkor Wat in 100°F heat, a 10-pound pack can start to feel pretty heavy – I know I’m a wimp.

I plan to lighten up on the photography equipment on my next trip. I definitely won’t be taking the battery grip with me. I might even consider getting a more compact SLR, like the Sony NEX, for long trips. It’d be nice to have a smaller camera with video capabilities as well.

One thought on “Back from Travels in Asia”

Leave a Reply

