Editing Photographs

I’m not a huge fan of spending too much time editing my photographs.  Unfortunately, I make a lot of mistakes, so post-production is inevitable.  I have to admit that some editing can make a bad image look pretty decent.  I used Picnik to edit the photo below of some boats in Monterroso al Mare, Italy.

Before

 

First, I rotated the photo so that the horizon was flat.  Second, I cropped out the unfocused lower right portion of the original image.  Then, I applied the Vignette and Cross Process effects to add an ‘artistic’ look to the photo.  It probably took me about 5 minutes to do.  There’s no way I would do something like this to every photo I take; I just don’t have the time or the motivation.  Besides, most of the photos I take can’t be saved with any amount of editing.  Nonetheless, a little bit of editing can sometimes be rewarding.

After
After
Leave a Reply

